Budget stoner/doom sound?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by massivHE, Mar 4, 2019.

1. massivHE

massivHE

Mar 4, 2019
    Hi folks,

I've been around the Forum for a while now and was mostly searching for threads about fuzz pedals and octavers.
    I couldn't find any thread which covered my needs although I am now pretty certain that I'll need a Fuzz and an Octaver + some kind of preamp to model an amp
    I have an Harte A100 kickback, which is a great combo, but pretty clean and kinda "boring"
    I play mostly a peavey NTB 4 grind bass (although I've got a couple other basses now, but it was my first Bass and i kinda love it)
    I tried a big muff but couldnt get the sound I was looking for.

I've been playing bass for almost 10 years now, but always played clean in alternative rock bands, and am looking for some more heavy style sounds.

I'd love to start with "cheap/affordable" stuff, to see if I am skilled enough for good stoner sound with a powerfull bass. And if i really like playing it as much as listening.

Thanks in Advance.

edit:

forgot to mention, I bought that behringer BDDI clone cuz cheap af and thought it would be good for trying.
    also own an source audio manta envelope filter with a hot hand (did some live drum and base things with my band, used it for wobble sounds and synth)
    and some cheapish donner boost which can overdrive a little. (wobbles have to be hard and a lot louder than main baseline ^^)

Ps.: excuse my bad english, I live in Austria^^

Last edited: Mar 4, 2019
  2. Swimming Bird

Swimming Bird

Apr 18, 2006
    Wheaton MD
    What you have alread is a great place to start. The Manta should be able to get you some pretty classic doom/stoner sounds and add in some subs plus the Behringer box can give you some grind.

3. massivHE

massivHE

Mar 4, 2019
    I was more or less just able to get some synthy fuzz sounds.
    --> "pendulum fasten your seatbelt" bassline and some sick wobble stuff.