1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Building a custom bass guitar?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by topfuel300, Jun 2, 2014.

1. topfuel300

topfuel300

Jun 2, 2014
    Hi, I'm 16 and have my dream bass guitar already figured out. I was wondering, would I be able to build one myself? I have little woodworking experience, and can't afford to pay someone else.

My woodworking experience includes: Art class project, where we made jig saw puzzles with particle board. And, making a CO2 car in Engineering class. (Lot's of sanding)

Can I do this?

2. A lot of guys here use Warmoth bodies/necks that are premade, buy pups/hardware and construct their own basses that way with a minimum of woodworking skills needed, Check out their site. Could be just what you're looking for.

BassChuck likes this.
  3. Hi.

Welcome to TalkBass topfuel300.

IMO anyone with even the most basic wood-working skills can make a playable instrument if they have the patience to do some research and the ability to follow simple guidelines.

Whether that first (or second for that matter ;)) attempt happens to fullfill that dream in Your head, that's another matter entirely.

Applies to any craft really, not just instrument building.
    In my humble opinion, the main things are to always keep the safety first, and never fear failure.

Instrument building is a very addictive and very rewarding hobby/profession, I'd say go for it.

Regards
    Sam

bluesdogblues likes this.
  4. +1
    take a look at the luthier's corner- great inspiration. Best of luck :)

Sent from my iPhone using TalkBass

5. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member