1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Buzzing from new Fender Flatwounds

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by PotatoBass, Aug 5, 2007.

1. PotatoBass

PotatoBass

Aug 5, 2007
    Hi Everyone,

I am just learning to play and, after some research, decided to put some Flatwounds (Fender 9050m) on my cheap Squire. I get a nice clear tone from the new strings but I get a bad buzzing from the string as I release pressure. The string starts buzzing on the exact fret I am working with. If I release extremely rapidly this doesn't happen but... it just seems too sensitive. Am I doing something wrong? This wasn't happening with the roundwounds I replaced...

2. Flatwound strings have a great deal more mass than equal guage roundwound strings. As a result switching to them may cause a slight bow in your neck which could be causing your buzz. A slight loosening of the trussrod often fixes this problem. You can take your bass to be set up , or do it yourself. If you do it yourself never make more than 1/4 turn at a time. If you try to make too much correction you risk stripping the truss nut or breaking the rod itself. Try a 1/4 turn, then retune. If it helps great, if it makes it worse then go the other direction 1/4 turn.

Just had another thought, if you just recently bought the bass you might be able to take it back and have the store adjust the neck. Since you put on Fender strings they should fall within the guidelines of your warantee. Additionally, most stores are looking to make newplayers repeat customers, so they are likely to be willing to help.

3. ducatiman

ducatiman

Oct 3, 2006
    new yawk
    potatobass-