1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Cabinet load

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ndrly, Apr 20, 2009.

1. So a cabinet has to be either equal to or exceed the wattage of the amplifier.

I admit I am a bit of a noob, but will using two cabinets, with the combined output exceeding the amplifier wattage, be a safe load?

I'm thinking of trying out a bi-amped setup with a solid state power amplifier for the low end. As an example, will one 18" cabinet at 400 watts, combined with a 15" cabinet at 350 provide a safe load for a 750 watt amplifier?

2. MIJ-VI

MIJ-VI Banned Supporting Member

Jan 12, 2009
    Hi ndrly.

It is a good idea to use speakers which can handle more wattage than an amplifier can put out.

You may wish to download and study the user's manuals for the gear which you are contemplating in order to better understand how this equipment can meet your needs.

3. cheezewiz

cheezewiz Supporting Member

Mar 27, 2002
    Ohio
    I disagree. MANY players use heads that put out more wattage than a cabinet is "rated" for. For example, look at the Epifani site.

Picking out what is probably their most popular cab, the UL410.
    The RMS wattage rating is 1000. They suggest powering the cabinet with 400 to 2000 watts. An amplifier does NOT put out its stated wattage all the time.

As long as you aren't really pushing your amplifier, you are safe using a cab rated for about half your head's stated wattage.

4. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice Commercial User

Sep 15, 2004
    New Hampshire
    Owner, Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design
    +1. A range of 2:1 to 1:2 is fine.
    A 'safe load' refers to impedance, power ratings are immaterial. As for using an 18 and 15 together, reconsider. An 18 and 2x10 is far better.

5. MIJ-VI

MIJ-VI Banned Supporting Member