Calluses help!

Discussion in 'Rockabilly [DB]' started by fifteenrabbits, Mar 18, 2007.

1. fifteenrabbits

fifteenrabbits Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2007
    Philadelphia, PA
    I keep playing to hard, getting blisters, and then the blisters pop and it starts all over again! how do I develop calluses?!

I'm a guitarist moving to upright bass. please help.

tricks, tips, anything!

2. Just keep playing, your hands have got to harden up some time. If you need to play and the painful, popped blisters are in the way, you can do a few things. People use super glue or tape, and that can help out alot if you need to play through the pain.

For some reason I never had a blister problem on electric or upright bass, but when I started playing guitar, I got ripped to shreds. A few weeks of playing and my fingertips are quite hard.

3. mpoppitt

mpoppitt

Mar 28, 2005
    Austin Texas
    If you havn't allready, you might want to get some low tension strings. Learning to slap on stiff steels is a struggle.

4. screamkingart

screamkingart

Apr 27, 2006
    i think it has to do with a number of things

technique, action, strings,

on technique, instead of grabbing the strings, like if you were trying to pull a piece of rope, use only your fingertips to barely grab the strings, and just let the string roll off your fingertips,

depending on the style of slap your playing, your action will be your best friend, if your playing fast psychobilly stuff, the lower the better IMO if its some slower rockabilly stuff, then you can have higher action without struggling, and ripping your fingers to shreds, and like i said before, let the string roll off your finger tips if your actually grabbing the strings your letting more meat get pulled around (that sounds funny :D )