Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Can someone help me make a decision??

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by joe.wimberley, Feb 3, 2006.

Which one should I choose?

Poll closed Feb 6, 2006.
  1. Phil Jones Briefcase

9.1%
  2. GK MB150E-112

23.6%
  3. Tech 21 Landmark Combo

3.6%
  4. SWR Baby Blue

5.5%
  5. Roland D-Bass

7.3%
  6. Nemesis NC-210

14.5%
  7. MesaBoogie Walkabout Scout

36.4%
  8. Line 6 Lowdown

1.8%
  9. Warwick CCL

3.6%
  10. Other

18.2%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Hey dudes,

New forum member, long time reader.
    I'm starting this thread and hoping that you all have some opinions and *more importantly* experience with some of these combos.

I've been playing for 20+ years, and need to buy a combo to last me for another 20+years(a nuclear family limits your bass buying habits alot--all you single folks listen up!!).

I have a ESP P-Bass, a Warwick Flashback with active pickups, and a 1945 Kay upright with a Fishman pickup. I play worship music(fairly loud rock, but mostly thru a PA), and also play upright(bluegrass/jazz). When playing rock, I don't need to be the loudest, just able to hear myself with a drummer..:eek:

I'd like the best of both worlds, and have a combo that would serve both needs on any given day. I have a budget of $1000...what do I buy? I've been poring over the reviews on talkbass/HC, etc, and have narrowed my list and my concerns..please chime in and put my indecision to rest!

For starters..no PEAVEYs!

The contenders-->and the concern(s):
    -Phil Jones Briefcase*-->the frontrunner, but I fear the volume will not be enough for jamming with any drummer--please ease my fears, PJB users!!
    -GKMB150E-III-->durability, and nice tone from a metal box??
    -Tech21 Landmark combo(love the sansamp DI)-->how's the clean tone on upright??
    -Warwick CCL-->upright sound fears and hiss?