Carvin vs. Warmoth, please help me decide

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Jacob M, Sep 5, 2004.

1. Jacob M

Jacob M

Aug 28, 2004
    New York
    I'm a guitarist, I want a bass, and I don't want to start out on a crappy beginners bass. I'm pretty much totally confident in my ability to build a Warmoth bass and assemble it. Using Seymour Duncan pickups, CTS pots, a Gotoh bridge and Gotoh tuners, it would be around $500 to do so. But there's Carvin, and for like $150 more i could get a neck through bass, all pre-assembled, so no hassle.

Some positives about Warmoth:
    - Getting a bass with exactly the woods I want (Black Korina body, Maple neck, Ebony fretboard)
    - Getting a bass with a universal route under a pickguard, so I can try lots of different pickup combinations
    - The satisfaction of assembling my own bass
    - Saving about $150

Some negaitves about Warmoth:
    - Getting an unfinished body (so as to preserve costs), it will look cool, but will get beat up easier
    - Bolt-on neck leading to less upper-fret acess

Positives about Carvin:
    - Neck through design
    - Hipshot bridge
    - Painted/finished professionally

Negatives about Carvin:
    - Not the exact woods I want (would be brighter than I intended)
    - Costs $150 more
    - No ability to use different shaped pickups, less diversity

So bassically, if you have any experience with Warmoth or Carvin (preferably with both), please, sound off, I just want tons of people shouting opinions so I can try to weigh the options considering the experiences/opinions of people who have Carvin or Warmoth basses.

Thanks for any help,
  2. HiFi

Apr 20, 2002
    Anaheim, CA
    You could still put at least an oil finish (depending on wood) if you go the Warmoth route.
  3. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    i've played carvins i like, and carvins i hated - but you can always send it back