1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Cello Suites...which edition?

Discussion in 'Ask Patrick Neher [Archive]' started by Jeff Bonny, Jun 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jeff Bonny

Jeff Bonny

Nov 20, 2000
    Vancouver, BC
    Which edition of the Bach Cello Suites do you like?
    I couldn't find the one I've had for years (musta lent it out and forgot who to) so I bought a new one yesterday. There were over ten different editions in stock at L&M and I know a lot more are available. I ended up buying the Edmund Kurtz one with the original copied page opposite the modern version because I liked that the "fixes" are minimal and can be compared to the original manuscript. This seemed like a good idea but when I started playing through them I realized this meant a bunch of page turning. Not sorry at all I bought this 87 page "Anna Magdalena" but I would like to have a 40 page version without the original manuscript and thought I'd ask your thoughts on various editions before I spent another hour or two leafing through them looking at slurs and bow markings deciding on one.

Thanks.
    jeff

2. PNeher

PNeher

Mar 31, 2005
    Bellingham, WA