Changing band names midstream

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by uglycicles, Aug 13, 2004.

1. uglycicles

uglycicles Supporting Member

Dec 10, 2003
    Southwest Chicago
    Hey there,
    Hoping some of you could offer some advice....

I've been playing with my current group for about 2 years under our current name. In this time we've played about twice a month - bar gigs and fests, and a few higher profile gigs. Mostly obscure covers, but a few originals.

We've agreed to change our direction to focus solely on the original material, get our CD together, and play more clubs and venues that feature original music.

Because we're at this junction, we've been kicking around the idea of changing the name of the band. The current name works, I guess, but it's nobody's favorite.

However, it's now at the point that promoters, club owners, and people in general are starting to slowly recognize the name, and the thing I'm afraid of is essentially starting from scratch and losing whatever reputation we have built on the name in the last 2 years.

Has anybody been through this in the past? Any advice, other than putting "formerly known as xxx" on the flyers?

Or is this a bad idea, and just stick with what we've got?

Thanks in advance! :bassist:
  2. secretdonkey

Oct 9, 2002
    Austin, TX
    I know a couple of bands who did this exact thing. Both changed their names to reflect the new original format. One of them plays regularly under the new name for original/showcase gigs, and still plays cover gigs under the old name. The other band has tried to stay the originals course, but has had to resort to playing a few cover shows to make some much-needed money, and did so under their old coverband name.
  3. uglycicles

Dec 10, 2003
    Southwest Chicago