1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

chords: pick versus fingers

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by meta, Apr 3, 2009.

1. meta

meta

Mar 11, 2009
    I'm a converted guitarist, so that is where this is coming from in the first place.

i've been playing bass a few months, and decided to go 100% finger method only, started anchoring the thumb, then moved to floating thumb recently. and chords were easy to play as I could pluck all the strings with 2 or more fingers of my right hand while holding down a chord on the neck with my left hand.

now I'm going back to the pick (I will always probably go back and forth, depending on the sound / feel I want), but I find it extremely hard to get the same clarity out of the chords that I had with the finger method. I don't have a problem if i only play the D and G strings... but that is kind of limitting. And the A string can sound sort of OK with a picked chord, but the E strings sounds downright unmusical.

Is it just a well known thing about playing the bass that to make proper chords you can't really use a pick?

My ultimate technique, btw, which I have yet to perfect, is to hold the pick with my thumb and index finger, and play finger technique with my middle, ring, and pinkie fingers (might have to leave the pinkie out), that way I can get the best of both worlds and mix it up at leasure in the same song (picking up and putting down a pick is a definite no midway through a song, as if I need to say that lol). the problem is my finger method right now is only index and middle, so I need to switch it to middle and ring, which will take some work, but that also sounds like fun.

Anyways, if anyone has any insight on chords with a pick, that would be great!

thanks,

meta