Clean and shine question

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by De-Spy, Jan 14, 2005.

1. De-Spy

Jan 13, 2005
    Hello forum,
    I'm somewhat new to DB but, not to other instruments both new and old. I recently aquired a late 50's Kay M1. I'd like to clean and polish it to start with since the bass is pretty much set up and running. However, I'm sure I'll have other questions in the future!
    I poked around the forum a bit and found that many have suggested OZ or Gaurdsman polish. I was unable to find either but, picked up a can of SC Johnson paste wax because it seemed to be the closest thing I could find. Says it "enriches, beautifies and protects wood, metal leather and plastics".
    The finish on my bass has some flaking, and looks like it needs a good cleaning and shining. I'm gonna try the Simple Green as suggested here to clean. Do you think it would be alright to shine the bass with paste wax? Everything else I could find was an oil. Thanx...
  2. I use standard furniture polish. Pledge usually, the lemon one is nice!
  3. Brent Norton

Brent Norton

Sep 26, 2003
    Detroit, MI
    Whatever you do, just make sure whatever you use does not contain silicone. The paste wax you bought probably doesn't, but it's just that - wax - which will have relatively little cleaning effect on the instrument. It's a Kay, so it's wearing nitro lacquer; You may want to try Meguiar's #9, "Swirl Remover 2.0." It's a very mildly abrasive polish that will clean and take care of some of the finer scratches in the finish while leaving behind a pleasing shine. You can use it by hand, and it's "paintable," meaning it doesn't contain silicones. Your auto parts stores should have it.
  4. Brent Norton

Brent Norton

Sep 26, 2003
    Detroit, MI
    Oh yeah -- as an alternative, Meguiar's #5 (New Car Glaze) also does a pretty nice job and is, again, silicone-free.
  5. Just curious Brent - what damage does silicone do? - its in a hell of al lot of products!
  6. Chasarms