1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Competing with Mesa Boogie & Marshall Amps...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by dubstyle, May 13, 2011.

1. My two guitarists are gear-whores. One owns a Marshall JVM and the other has a Mesa Boogie Tripple Rectifier. This is extremely annoying.
    The Marshall is a 100 watt head.
    The Mesa is running at 150 watts.
    They are both played through 4 x 12", 300 watt cabs.
    They crank them up way too loud and drown out the vocals and bass. But I intend to fight fire with fire...

I have recently upgraded from a Hartke 100 watt combo (A100), which just wasn't cutting it in practice, to an Ampeg Portaflex (PF-500) head. As a high school student, I'm on a tight budget and was stoked I could even afford an Ampeg.
    I now need a cab to utilise the amp's full potential. The logical thing to do would be to purchase the matching Portaflex cab (PF-210HE). I could even utilise the fliptop function. But a reliable source suggested that the matching cab wouldn't cut it, as the 2 x 10" speakers wouldn't give me all that much volume. And at $720 here in Australia, the price is a little steep. I'd be willing to pay that much but I need to know if I'm getting my money's worth (they retail at $400 in the US, but shipping costs are insane - more than the cab itself!) The reason I was drawn to the Portaflex series in the first place was for their affordability and portability, the latter also being important as I am carting gear around in the boot of the car every weekend.

What should I do?

The Ampeg's RMS output is 500 watts at 4 ohms. It need a compatible cab that will cater to my needs, i.e. lots of volume. Should I stick with getting the matching Portaflex cab? Or should I search for something else?

Any advice on this matter would be much appreciated.

2. cheezewiz

cheezewiz Supporting Member

Mar 27, 2002