1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Couldn't see.......played the wrong notes

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by g4string, Apr 26, 2009.

1. g4string

g4string Supporting Member

Sep 19, 2002
    Melissa, TX
    I played a gig on Sat.....I got tucked in the back part of the stage, poor lighting and some shadows. I had a hard time seeing where I was at on the fretboard on several occasions which caused me to hit the wrong note. Has this ever happened to anyone else?? I have been playing for about 20 years and gigging for about 15 years out of the 20. This was the first time this has ever happened to me.......

2. i suggest memorizing the fretboard

3. Lazylion

Lazylion Goin ahead on wit my bad self!

Jan 25, 2006
    Frederick MD USA
    Been there. Best thing to do is stay down by the nut and use as many open strings as possible - you KNOW those open notes are right!

I played a place that was very dark, but had a lot of black lights. I painted my dots with fluorescent paint. Also put a dot out on the far end of the peghead, so I wouldn't crash it into the wall! Problem solved!

4. g4string

g4string Supporting Member

Sep 19, 2002
    Melissa, TX
    I dont know if your being sarcastic or helpful:meh: I know the fretboard. Like I said, I have been playing for 20 years. I have basses w/o dots too. FWIW, It was so dark that I couldn't even see what position I was in.

5. sorry i was trying to be helpful and not sarcastic

maybe some kind kind of LED system night help? SIMS are expensive but i know there are some alternatives to that...

also maybe a cool little light you could set near where you stand so that the light would help you see but still in style with the rest of the lighting setup might help too

6. Loel

Loel Blazin' Acadian

Oct 31, 2004