1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Crap - spade bit fail?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by sublimate, Nov 22, 2018.

1. I couldn't find a Forstner bit in 11/16 (I admit, I only looked at Home Despot, not the best hardware store in town) so I gave it a try with a spade bit.

I went slow, but as soon as the spade started to dig, CRAAACK!
    WP_20181122_11_59_53_Pro[1].

Is drilling tuner holes with a spade bit a complete noob no-no? I particularly don't like this kind that has a threaded point - worried it might have caused extra stress.

Or have others had success with spade bits and did I just get unlucky? The way it popped open with a loud bang and stayed open makes me think there may have been residual stresses that caused this. Perhaps would have had the same result with a forstner bit?

Old Garage-Bander likes this.
  2. Turnaround

Turnaround Commercial User

May 6, 2004
    Toronto Canada
    Independent Instrument Technician, and Contractor to Club Bass and Guitar - Toronto
    It's the tapered threaded part that did the damage - it goes in like a wedge. Very definitely not recommended for this kind of work. In fact I don't think I would recommend it for any boring job - certainly not in hardwood. And spade bits don't create a nice clean hole, nor an accurate one. They are good for making approximately-sized rough holes.

I would put a clamp across the crack (with a shaped caul), then finish drilling out the hole with a Forstner bit. That will clear out any "wedged" bits of wood created by the boring bit. Then you should be able to close the crack completely. A bit of glue - clamp it up - let it dry.

RSBBass, HeavyDuty and 96tbird like this.
  3. 202dy

202dy Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2006
    The threaded taper requires a proper pilot hole.