Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Crossover Jazz tunes

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by the feebler elf, Jan 18, 2005.

1. I have a problem I was hoping y'all could help me with. I've been spending 100% of my practice time on technique lately, and it's left me in a bit of a rut. I'd like to learn some jazz, but I'm not sure where to start.

I've been playing bass for seven years, so I'm not a beginner, but I am relatively new to jazz. Could anybody recommend some good pieces to start with? Please try to keep availability in mind, pieces that are easy to find (standard notation or tab, no preference).

Thanks!

2. Most jazz, to a great extent, is improvised so the parts are not always the same.

Having said that, you need a good foundation in "walking bass" technique. As well as some knowledge of chord/scale theory, and real familiarity with the 32 bar AABA structure.

"The Jazz Bass Book: Technique and Tradition" from Hal Leonard has some great stuff as far as basic technique and traditional styles. Next I would recommend some of the Jamey Aebersold Play-A-Longs. Volume 54 "Maiden Voyage" is a good place to start. It contains several easy tunes including "Impressions", "Watermelon Man" and "Satin Doll", also you can get a companion volume with transcribed basslines (notation only). WWW.Jazzbooks.com. These are mostly aimed at upright players but transfer well to eletric.

........Jim

3. dlloyd

dlloyd zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Apr 21, 2004
    Scotland
    Ed Friedland's Building Walking Bass Lines and it's companion volume Expanding Walking Bass Lines are where I would go first as a beginner (EDIT: read that as "a newcomer to jazz"). I've found some useful stuff in Ray Brown's bass method, but generally it's more applicable to DB.