CT Bassists/Teachers

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by briananderson, Feb 7, 2005.

1. Hi everyone,

Im thinking about starting to take lessons again. I went to school for jazz and mostly played electric but got a great start on the upright with the bassists around me, including lessons with Lucas Drew. So years later Im barely touching my bass guitar and regretting not studying with Drew more while I had the chance.
    Im looking for a good DB teacher in the SW connecticut area to study with 2-3 a month to fill in all the holes in my technique and understandng of classical bass styles. Any recomendations would be appreciated.

2. ispider6

Jan 30, 2005
    Hi Brian,

I'm a bass player located in Stamford. I recently graduated from Yale with a master's in bass performance. I've taught classical bass up to the undergrad level. If you're interested, send me an email: palto@prodigy.net .

3. I,m from Waterbury CT. I am a music teacher and give lessons here in town. I am not sure how advanced you are but I could certainly get you started. I studied with Robert Black at Uconn. I'm not sure if he teaches privatly but what a musician.
    Peace Benton
  4. godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    +1, Great guy and great bassist !
  5. azflyman

Apr 24, 2004
    Astoria, OR
    Sound like other have already helped but you could give Upton Bass a call. I am sure Gary has a list somewhere. He is in Mystic, I am not sure where that is from your local. www.uptonbass.com
  6. Robert Black is one of the most underated cats out there IMHO.
    If you can get with him, do! He is brilliant.
  7. ctcruiser

Jan 16, 2005
    West Haven, CT