Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

DB wood sources

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by wilser, Feb 1, 2006.

1. Hello All,
    This is my first time posting in this forum. I am in the process of starting to build a double bass. I am making the mould and have already purchased a nice spruce top. I have had no luck locating a place that has back/rib sets in stock. internatioalviolin.com up in Baltimore, MD said they requested some sets but they are not sure when they'll arrive. Does anybody know of a dealer or maker that would sell me wood for a 3/4 sized panormo styled DB back and rib set? I don't need (although it would be nice) flamed maple, I'd build it out of any of the woods that have been used succesfully on a DB (cherry, sycamore, etc).

Thanks,
    Wilser.

2. nicklloyd

nicklloyd Supporting Member/Luthier

Jan 27, 2002
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Is there a hardwood dealer in your area? You could use 8/4 soft maple or walnut. Your first bass is going to be your worst, so don't break the bank (i.e. spend more than $400) on backs and sides. Are you planning to carve a scroll/neck?

3. Yes, I'm going to carve the scroll myself. I don't claim to be an experienced builder, but I am quite confident on my current skill level. I've got a few dealers around, but my main problem is that I don't have machinery to thin the sides. That's why I was looking for a dealer that specifically supplies wood for. double bass

4. arnoldschnitzer

arnoldschnitzer AES Fine Instruments

Feb 16, 2002
    Brewster, NY, USA
    When you buy sides from a dealer they are left thick. You are going to have to thin them yourself. Find a local cabinet shop that has a thickness sander, and ask them to help you out for a few bucks. Do NOT try to put your rib material through a planer! I did my first few bass' ribs with a hand plane and a hand-held belt sander, with good results...