1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Device like SansAmp pedal vs Logic Bass amp/cab sims?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by NameIsBass4Real, Jan 20, 2017.

1. NameIsBass4Real

NameIsBass4Real

Jan 20, 2017
    Hi. I am an amateur bassist, occasionally do some recording. I only have a 50w Ampeg pracitice amp as far as bass amps go, and have generally recorded directly to my Imac/Logic Pro X, via an Apogee Duet, as mic'ing the amp never seems to yield very powerful sounding results.

The stock Logic amp/cab sims are okay, but even with a lot of tweaking, EQing, compression, etc., I never feel like I'm getting the tone found on commercial recordings. . .it's either too midrangey/harsh (dinga dinga dinga sound predominates), or its TOO bassy, i.e. the "way down there" frequencies are emphasized over that sweet spot you want for it to sit right in a rock mix (rock generally fits the description of anything I record). Simply put, i can't get a "thick" or "meaty" sound.

Wondering what a SansAmp pedal/device could do for me (if anythig) vs the software sims.

I understand some of the tone comes from the player, etc., but some of it doesn't. . .some of it is the amp/instrument/pickups.

I have several low end to mid end basses, a Squire Jazz, a Schecter Diamond Series, and a MIM P-bass, all stock. They all suffer from these issues. Maybe that's the problem right there? Pickups?

So again, chain right now is bass -->> Apogee Duet --- > Logic Pro X, amp sims/cab sims and processing applied to track after the fact.

Any insight? Thanks.

2. Badwater

Badwater

Jan 12, 2017