1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

DiMarzio Model J series/parallel help please?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by chunger, Apr 19, 2010.

1. chunger

chunger

Jan 10, 2006
    Albany, CA
    Chunger basses by Studio 939
    Hi,

I'm an electronics newbie who up until now has just been following pretty diagrams I find online. I've had a lot of success lately doing series parallel wiring with a push pull pot located at the neck pickup pot for passive jazz basses.

p26820074-5.

I have installed DiMarzio DP123 Model J pickups in one of my friend's basses and we are wanting to try a configuration that lets us select series or parallel for the individual pickups as well as let us do series/parallel globally between the 2 pickups utilizing push/pull pots on the 3 standard knobs so the bass looks "stock" still.

Neck vol pot: push -> neck pup series | pull -> neck pup parallel

Bridge vol pot: push -> bridge pup series | pull -> bridge pup parallel

Tone pot: push -> 2 pickups parallel | pull -> 2 pickups series

I've made an attempt to adapt one of the Seymour Duncan wiring diagrams to do this, but since I don't know much about electronics, there's a good chance there's something fatally wrong with this scheme. I was wondering if anyone who actually knows what they're doing can look this over and possibly point out the problems.:ninja:

p200279722-6.

2. I had the very diagram you need on hand from several months ago.

3781820512_c421120d47_o.

3. Hi,

From your images it looks as if the pickups only have two leads comming from them. If this is the case then I don't think you can wire the individual pickups in series/parallel, only the pair. The pickups will need to have four leads per pickup to do what you want.