Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Do it yourself!

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by michele, Jul 17, 2004.

1. michele

michele Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2004
    Italy
    Guys, I need your help! After years of battles I realized that the only chance that I have to hear the music playing inside my head is ... doing it by myself!
    Yes, I'm ready to deal with the musician that plays what you want without being blue in the face ... Mr. PC (not a Mac)!
    But here's the problem: I'm a novice ... I know what I want to do but I don't know how to do it!
    I want to:
    1) Writing all the parts and have them played. Long time ago I used Sibelius (1st version) but ... hey, I need decent sounds!
    2) I want to plug my bass in and playing along with the stuff I've written. At the moment I can only trust my beloved Sadowsky and an amp that has a balanced XLR out.
    3) I want to be able to cut, copy, paste, EQ etc. etc. ... in one word I want something that allows me to manipulate it all!
    That's all guys! My wishes have revealed that I'm so ignorant about this stuff but ... please, help me!! I can spend a reasonable amount of money on this so ... come on ... WHAT I HAVE TO BUY??!!!

2. DougP

DougP

Sep 4, 2001
    There are many different ways of doing this as you are about to find out. Once i have the song in my head, my method of recording goes like this:
    1. Program the drums using Acid Pro, then save the drumline as a WAV file.
    2. Import the WAV onto a track in Cakewalks' Guitar Tracks Pro, then record the the guitars and bass(es). Since you only have an XLR out, you can get an adapter, use a micorphone to record, or use a small preamp device. (i use either a SansAmp, or my roommates POD).