Does anyone own a stagg EUB?

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by fermor99, May 21, 2018.

1. fermor99

fermor99

May 21, 2018
    Hi, this is my first time posting on talk bass.
    Does anyone have or know where I can get my hands on a stagg electric upright bass? I live in the Los Angeles area. I want to purchase an EUB and I’ve read good things about the stagg and it’s in my budget. I’m wondering if anyone would be kind enough to let me play on it to see how it feels before I make the purchase. That might be a lot to ask so if anyone has played on one can you describe it. I’ve played on a Yamaha silent bass and it feels great I loved it but it’s just too expensive for me. I’m hoping a stagg feels similar. I play jazz pizzacato style

2. You would be a bit disappointed, since the Yamaha is one of the best EUBs regarding the feeling of a Double bass.
    The Stagg is not bad for it's money, but you need to tweak this and that a bit and if you can afford a bit more expensive instrument, you might consider one of the Italian MK EUBs.

If you still consider a Stagg get the more expensive version with the rosewood fingerboard. Easier/nicer to get in shape if needed (this is often the case). The Stagg needs a lot of tweaking here and there and you might still be a bit disappointed afterwards, but if you just want one now that you can afford and know a bit of setup work for a double bass and can do that yourself, that might be a good first EUB. You might loose money/work time if you sell it later for a better instrument, but it is not too much if you can do the work yourself.

The bridge needs to be reshaped, you might need a different body support, new strings, maybe new tuners (after a while), maybe a little tweak of the electronics and a lot of reading of the Stagg Megathreads (do that before you order/buy).
    The MK is setup well with strings you can supply or good strings they usually put on.