Does it bother you when...?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by tplyons, Feb 3, 2004.

1. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Is it me or does it bother you guys when people start playing bass just to start a band with their friends? When I started playing, there was one other bassist in my grade. Mind you there are only 270 people in my class in high school, and about 20 of them play bass. I would normally say this is a good thing, but they simply don't CARE about bass. I started, then my friend Jeff because if I can do it, so can he. Then Ian, who actually turned out decent, then Brian who's been playing upright for years. My friend Greg wants me to "teach" him how to play bass so he can start a band with his friends. My friend Vicky wants to borrow one of my basses so she can play with her friends. Sure, I appreciate them coming to me for advice, but they play straight eighths or the patterns their guitarist tells them just so they can say they're in a band.

And why does this bother me? Because these people take the place of people who actually care about bass. They can't name the strings, they can't improvise, they just take up space, play with cheap combos and borrow everyone else's gear for gigs, and never practice.

I'm just a little pi**ed off because in the past week I've been asked to show three people how to play bass so they could join a band with their friends. Do I get invitations to join? Nope. And to make matters worse, they all want to get basses because of their looks, without playing them, no research, because they have to fit an image.

I think I'm done ranting, just at the end of a bad day.
  2. Ok, say it with me... you can do it...

See that wasn't hard, just be a ******* for once.
  3. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ