1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Does skill = your bass??

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Grizzly700, Sep 3, 2008.

1. Grizzly700

Grizzly700

Mar 18, 2008
    Maryville, TN
    Ok, I have been playing bass for 2 years and have what I would call a mid-quality bass, a Fender Geddy Lee Jazz. My friend that plays guitar has been playing for nearly 5 years and only has a very cheap Dean Vendetta. He gets angry with me because I have better equipment like my Ampeg amp and says that I shouldn't have that because I haven't been playing long enough. I bought this stuff because I worked for it and can afford it, but he is from a lower middle-class family and probably can't afford it. We are still in high school and he says I am too young and haven't been playing long enough. Am I right for saying you should buy the best that you can afford? We actually have gotten in fights over this because he just won't leave it alone and he is extremely jealous I guess.....

:meh::confused::crying:

PS- His lack of equipment has stopped us from doing gigs that we could have. Should I drop him and find a new guitarist? We are really good friendsuntil we get to practice.

2. NJL

NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio
    He needs to grow up.

3. There's nothing you can do about what he feels. If you worked and bought it with your earnings, that's your business. If you are getting into fistfights about it, I suggest you discontinue your association with him.

4. First of all, his comments are all jealousy, if you paid for your gear by having a job, it's yours and you deserve it.

with skill and instrument quality, I think that, like a lot of things in life, it matters only for the first impression. When you see someone walking on stage with a Fodera for example, you expect a good sound and good playing.