Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

double thumb technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Bassmanjan, May 9, 2004.

1. hi everybody-

my name is jan, i live in germany and i have been playing bass for over eight years now. after having started mainly for necessity reasons in my first band, i discovered a preference for the deep fat notes that eventually turned out to become a growing passion...
    since i came from the guitar, i started practicing bass intuitively, by listening and playing, barely on instruction or notations. it has always been working, but however i would like to teach myself some particular bass techniques that i can't quite figure out by myself. lately i have been reading and hearing a lot on the 'double thumb technique'. i found several demos on the net and tried it, but the result wasn't satisfactory at all.
    so i'm asking if anyone is familiar with this technique and could give me some advise?

-jan

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    hi! welcome to talkbass!

It's very hard to describe via text, but the trick is using your thumb like a pick, with very little effort/force. Most use too much force.

3. thanx for your quick reply :)

where is the force actually supposed to come from, from my wrist or the thumb itself?

4. Limo

Limo

Sep 22, 2002
    Reykjavik Iceland
    I would think you'd keep your thumb "stiff" and move you wrist.

5. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA
    There is a range of ways to do double thumbing. On one end of the spectrum, you can leave your arm and wrist fixed, and just move your thumb. On the other end of the spectrum, you can leave your thumb and wrist fixed, and just move your arm. In between, there's some wrist movement.