1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Easy DIY upright build?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Shardik, Sep 26, 2013.

1. Shardik

Shardik

May 24, 2011
    Halden, Norway
    Hi

I am currently an amateur bass guitar player and in addition a DIY hobbyist.
    Recently I have thought about trying to get an upright, but as I have virtually no budget, I am thinking DIY.

This youtube video got me intrigued:

Have any of you good people in here built anything similar? It looks like a build I could master with my limited skill and tool set.

(and yes, I have tried to search, but haven't found much on DIY at this simple level)

2. powerbass

powerbass

Nov 2, 2006
    western MA
  4. Kickass

Kickass

Jul 20, 2012
    Scottish Borders
    recycled drum and bass neck.

5. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2004
    Richmond, CA
    Ha... it's like a bass banjo.

6. Hi.

I haven't done one, yet, my unidentifiable eastern block BSO has served me well enough ;).

Well, a cardboard bass like the commercial Bogdon would be the cheapest, around ~50€/~500NOK if You buy all the parts from a hardware store.
    No money and just a bit of work if You have some weedwhacker line, a cardboard box, few bolts and a lenght of wood/plastic lying around.
    And a few basic tools of course.

That price is hard to beat anywhere and with anything.

Then there's the "Coffin bass", mostly associated with Necromantix.
    I haven't looked too deeply into the construction of the said bass, but I'd assume a conventional DB bass-bar and soundpost even though X-braced ACG style flat-top would probably be easier to make and set up.

That style would run You down minimum ~200-300€ depending on the hardware You wish to use.

BUT...