Electronics for fretless?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by ii7-V7, Sep 18, 2005.

1. ii7-V7

Aug 4, 2002
    Baltimore, MD
    In your opinion whats the best setup for a fretless?

J-bass style two single coils? Musicman HB? With Piezo? Some other setup?
  2. ii7-V7

Aug 4, 2002
    Baltimore, MD
    Well, of course its personal preference. But thats what I'm asking about. I'm new to the fretless side of the tracks. I'm hoping to find out what experienced fretless players prefer.

Active? Preamp?
  3. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC
    It really doesn't matter. At all. It's all about what you want to hear. You're not gonna find a single setup about which the vast majority of fretless players say, yeah, that's the one. Some go active, some go passive. Some use J, some use P, some use MM, some use soapbar.

It's a fruitless search. It's like asking, what's the best car? There's no real answer to that question. You have to ask, what kind of driving do you want to do? Under what circumstances? What are your goals and needs?
  4. PunkerTrav

Jul 18, 2001
    Canada & USA
    ..and just like cars there is some intangible that can't be predicted or understood. Try things until you find somethign that "works."

I have Basslines Quarter Pounders in my fretless jazz. They work lovely for me; you might hate everything about them.

One thing to consider, switching between flats/rounds on fretless has a huge impact on sound. If you aren't entirely happy with your set up, you might want to try a switch. It will probably be cheaper than new electronics.
  5. DanGouge

May 25, 2000
    I have Barts in mine and I'm not changing that set-up any time soon, or ever, really.