1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Email as a binding contract for bookings

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by notdavey, May 18, 2011.

1. notdavey

notdavey

Nov 2, 2006
    Seattle WA
    So I have been booking bands for over 10 years. One of my groups has had a steady monthly gig at a Seattle club for almost 3 years. Every date confirmation is via email with no signed or printed contract. In early March I booked dates through September with the booker which was confirmed via email like all previous gigs at this venue for the last 3 years. In mid Mach she left the venue and I sent an email to the new booker reconfirming we were booked through September and to contact me if there were any problems. I received no replies.

Yesterday I notice our June date is not on their calendar. I contacted the new booker and he then informs me that not only has the June date been double booked but that only the July date is listed as pending and that he will not honor the dates previously confirmed by their former employee. When I forwarded a copy of the confirmation and even an email to the new booker, I was told to not "push" him as he is also the General Manager of the venue.

If their previous practice is to confirm dates via email, doesn't the confirmation imply a binding contract?

We are scheduled to play there this weekend and I honestly feel like telling them to go F*** themselves. I really despise how clubs just expect bands to bend over when they screw up.

Thoughts?

2. grue

grue

Apr 13, 2003
    Brooklyn, NY