Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Epiphone EB-3 with a pick?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mofomage, Jun 18, 2005.

1. mofomage

mofomage

Jun 18, 2005
    MARS
    I was thinking of getting a used Epiphone EB-3 off the internet, but before i do i would like to know how they play with a pick? I can play with my fingers as well but my currentband does best with a picked bass, and all the reviews for this bass seem to center around fingers. So i was wondering if anyone here has one and if so how they play with a pick? :help:

2. BlacktotheBlind

BlacktotheBlind Supporting Member

May 5, 2004
    Indianapolis
    i had one, i sold it because the sound blew using a pick. there's very little low end. i just couldn't get the tone i wanted, but i am a metal bassist so it might be different for you.

3. mofomage

mofomage

Jun 18, 2005
    MARS
    ah thanks for the advice, i guess i wont be gettin one then. Do you have any suggestions for a bass with lots of thump and low end with a pick for under 400? My squier just aint cuttin it :bassist:

4. Daytona955i

Daytona955i

Feb 17, 2005
    Albany, NY
    www.espguitars.com

Look at the ESP Standard Series.

EC, F, Viper, and B series are just different body shapes, some have slightly different parts or different model numbers amongst the different series.

The price you can get them for is around $100-$150 less than the list on the site.

5. mofomage

mofomage

Jun 18, 2005
    MARS
    eh they're a little pricy even at the store, plus they just don't seem to be built for anything but metal (and i like metal, but my current band is more blues rock and the ESP's just don't seem to match up)

6. mofomage

mofomage

Jun 18, 2005
    MARS