1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ernie Ball Musicman Owners

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by TGLbass, Sep 29, 2010.

1. TGLbass

TGLbass

Aug 20, 2010
    I own 2 EBMM's-- 06 Sterling HH 4 ASH and an 05 Stingray H 5. I recently traded an 06 Stingray HH 4 for the 05 - 5.
    I'm wondering what you guys think of the Balls? I've always played J's and P's and even though I like the MM's, I'm just not sure quite how I'm getting along with them.

I'm new to the Balls and I don't know any hot rodding/ mod tricks for them. I usually don't like active basses but that is not a problem with these. I did have a problem with the G string on the 06 HH 4--( if anyone knows what I'm referring to--). I know they don't sound like Fenders so much but a blend knob might be nice. Maybe that can't be done with the set up on them though. So I'm hanging out here wondering. I don't know if there is a site that will give me the kind of info I want about them. I tried the MM site but-well I just was kind of turned off by it. I couldn't get much from there. Pity really.

I guess I just want to get some "in general opinions". Do you like your MM's? What about sound mods that don't cost $300? Any tips on live sound? Anyone?:help: Thanks

2. bunkaroo

bunkaroo

Apr 25, 2003
    Endorsing Artist: Spector Basses
    I've played my '02 SR5 for eight years stock - sound great and it's my go-to bass. No mods needed IMO. The only mod I just did last night was a new pickguard. :)

3. Pickebass

Pickebass Supporting Member

Jul 12, 2004
    San Antonio, TX
    I've owned a few Stingrays and go in and out of favor with them. It really depends on what you are doing. First of all the construction on these things are awesome! Just about everyone of these that I have seen has been a great instrument.