1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

ESP RF-00

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mikasaka, Feb 21, 2008.

1. mikasaka

mikasaka

Feb 20, 2008
    Hey all,

Does anyone happen to know how well these bass' are? I would love to have one myself! Where could I purchase this bass in the UK? I believe it is Japanese.

RF-00.

Also, does anyone happen to know of a bass that is cheaper than this, yet has a similar tone as I'm new to playing bass, and I'm looking for a descent starters bass :D

Thanks

2. Beav

Beav Graphics Whore

Jul 17, 2003
    Middle Tennessee
    Designer: Beav's Graphics
    Well, it's an active Jazz bass with probally 60's spacing, so there are a plethora of basses that will fit that bill. Pretty much any Jazz is going to sound simular to that unless I'm missing something.

3. *Munkeh*

*Munkeh*

Apr 16, 2005
    London, UK
    Ah! Reita's bass from Gazette, love this band!

It's an active bass as Beav said and it has SD SJB-1n and SJB-2b pickups.

IF your looking for a cheaper alternative as this bass is way too expensive, just get an active jazz bass and replace the pickups the SD pickups Reita uses, should sound the same if not near the same. I mean it has an Alder body and maple neck with Rosewood fretboard like a Fender bass has :D

4. mikasaka

mikasaka

Feb 20, 2008
    Aye I love the band too, saw them back in 2007 in London, they were great :D

Don't happen to know if the SD pickups are available in the UK by any chance? Also, I'm pretty new to playing the bass, how would I upgrade the pickups? Would I be expected to change them myself or would I take them to a professional?

Thanks

5. Brendan

Brendan Supporting Member

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    Wow. I really like that, oddly enough. Too bad it doesn't have a P width nut. I know it doesn't, because I want one.

6. *Munkeh*

*Munkeh*

Apr 16, 2005
    London, UK