1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ex-Smokers. How did you quit?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Stewie26, May 12, 2019.

Tags:
  1. I have been smoking for many years now. I am normally a strong willed person with good self discipline. But when it comes to nicotine, I have been a wussy and nicotine has owned me for half a life time. I can not use the anti-smoking drug, Chantix, as it is on the FAA's no fly list because they say it may cause suicidal tendencies. :woot:
    What worked for you? I would really appreciate any suggestions you may have.

Last edited: May 12, 2019
    fhm555 likes this.
  2. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    Cold turkey after smoking from 15 to about 33. It was harder than quitting cocaine ten years earlier. There's no trick to it. You just have to do it or not do it. I still miss them.

the_home, jchrisk1, FRoss6788 and 5 others like this.
  3. Everyone is different with nicotine because it's largely in your head. The physical symptoms are very mild.

Read Allen Carr. Cold Turkey is the only way but he explains how that works by first curing you of the idea you need nicotine to feel good, then you quit.

4. 48thStreetCustom

48thStreetCustom

Nov 30, 2005
    Colorado
    I looked at all the places/times I smoked (in the car, at home, band practice, after lunch, when I drank, etc) and one by one, I cut them out. It took about 6 months but one day I realized I wasn't addicted anymore. So then I just stopped.

5. MJ5150

MJ5150 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 12, 2001
    Olympia, WA
    I consider you a valuable part of TBOT. It would be weird without you around sharing your wisdom and life stories with us, like the ones about the STEM fair or the many lives you've saved with life flights.
    I don't want to lose you prematurely because of smoking, so please stop.

-Mike