Experimental passive wirings/pre

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Frank Martin, Jul 15, 2005.

1. Frank Martin

Frank Martin Bitten by the luthiery bug...

Oct 8, 2001
    Budapest, Hungary, EU
    So I'm thinking I'll do some funky uncommon experimental wirings for my upcoming 6.
    Initially I thought about getting Bart 90P46CBC dual coils for some series/parallel/sc goodness, but it looks like I can get LeFay Rough Crystals for almost half price... They are P4 shape, as well, so if I decide I still want to try the Barts, they'll go into my Corvette :smug:

I'm not really an electronics expert, but luckily my Dad is an electro-engineer and likes experimenting and DIY things, and it looks like I can turn him on this subject, as well :D

My ideas so far:

Simple Volume

Simple Blend

A switch that bypasses blend and switches the p-ups to series or parallel

A passive treble-roll-off with a twist: it has selectable freqs.
    The idea came from this article:
    However, I'd build it with a pot and a three-way switch, with the freqs being 2, 3 and 4,5 kHz.

Output booster. Similar to Villex. Yes, passive.
    My Dad has some ideas how it works. When I first mentioned it to him, some days later he showed me a miniature transformer (a cube about the size of a thumbnail), he said he'll keep looking for a better one, this one is uneven in the lowest freqs.

So, anyone have any more ideas?
    I'd like to keep this passive, so that's the limit. Oh and I don't want to cram the bass full with knobs *cough* Alembic *cough* :D
  2. Frank Martin

Oct 8, 2001
    Budapest, Hungary, EU
    No responses?

What do you think about these ideas?

Any more ideas to add?
  3. fookgub

Jun 5, 2005
    Houston, TX
    Here are my thoughts: