1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

External Hard Drive or No

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Bjazzman, Mar 3, 2008.

1. Bjazzman

Bjazzman

Dec 7, 2004
    Madison WI
    Is it better to get an external hard drive and record to that than to use the computer's own hard drive? I want to record my band on my new macbook pro but i will eventually want to have a professional studio mix and master it. If we did that would we need to record directly to the external and bring that in for the mixing/mastering?

2. Grantrudd

Grantrudd

Jun 26, 2007
    Boston MA
    i am still new at this recording deal, but here goes what i know.

It is best to use an external drive that is specially made for recording because those drives allocate space big enough for the file, instead of splitting it into many different parts like the hard drive of a computer will do. basically, the special hard drives make space to put all of the file in one spot, while computer drives scatters the information and puts peices of the file wherever it can find space. this does effect the recording quality (slightly, but it is noticeable)

Just curious, but what software are you using? i am lucky enough to be using ProTools 7 LE with a pretty nice digitech mixing board.

3. BetterBottomEnd

BetterBottomEnd <- Not me I just like looking at her

Jan 9, 2007
    Cable Wi
    No. I've ranted on this a couple times on these boards. If you want to save stuff to an external drive when you're done working with them for the day thats a great idea but an external drive is too slow to do much serious work on. The ideal situation is two internal drives one with your OS and Pro Tools installed and the other with the files your working on.

^^