1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Extra Bass in Big Band?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by rhaegar, May 19, 2011.

1. rhaegar

rhaegar

Nov 8, 2010
    Last week, I ran into a guy in my neighborhood who leads a big band. I told him that I started playing bass about six months ago and that we should keep in touch. At some point, he might need a bassist and I might be able to play something worth listening to. He encouraged me to come play with his band sooner (as in now). He sent me some charts, which had written out basslines. I talked it over with my teacher who encouraged me to give it a go.

The thing is he already has a bassist. He plays upright; I play electric. At this early stage of where I'm at, it would be great just to come and play a couple of tunes and fill in when their regular bassist can't make it to practice.

I saw of picture of their band on the neighborhood bulletin board. It looked like just one trombone and no bari sax. I have this vague recollection of playing tuba parts on bari sax in HS. I played for six years, but that was back when Reagan was president. I was a bit tempted to buy a bari sax and give that a try until I saw what those things cost.

My question for everyone is whether it would it work playing bari sax or trombone parts on an electric bass? Just curious if there would be a way to play with these guys other than as an understudy.

2. Rypher

Rypher

Feb 4, 2008
    As a bari sax, upright, and electric player, I have to say a resounding no. Sadly, the bari parts in big band jazz usually follows along with the the lower brass instruments or occasionally with the rest of the saxophone section.