Fast steady plucking...tips for a newbie?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by rpt50, May 7, 2021.

1. rpt50

rpt50

Jan 10, 2021
    New to bass and looking for tips on songs that require a fast and steady pluck (e.g., "Going down" or "Dean Town"). As a long time guitarist, I can play this material with a pick, but I would like to be able to do this plucking. I'm working with a drum track, but I'm also wondering if there are any techniques that might help. For example, I've noticed that I have the most difficulty on the E string, I guess because it's a little floppy on my short scale. Is there a hand position or something that will help here? Also, should I start working on a 3 finger pluck, or is that just going to complicate things? At 59, I don't pick up on new things like I used to, but I'm always willing to try!

Peter Torning likes this.
  2. Lobster11

Lobster11 Supporting Member Supporting Member

Apr 22, 2006
    Williamsburg, VA
    If you're new to bass it's worth investing some time into getting your technique into shape before you develop bad habits that will be hard to break later. As I'm sure you've already noticed, playing bass is rather different than playing guitar.

Here are a couple of well regarded right-hand techniques worth checking out. See if either of these works for you:

Also, I'd suggest turning up the amp and playing with a soft touch. One of the things I personally like about the "floating thumb" technique above is that it almost forces me to pluck softly; having an anchor always seems to make me want to dig in harder than necessary. Of course, YMMV.

3bc, One Way, Matty Koff and 9 others like this.
  3. 40Hz

40Hz Supporting Member

Regularly practicing with a click or drumbeat, and gradually increasing the tempo until you can play comfortably and steadily at higher speeds, is the only way I know to get good at it.