1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fender Help

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Lexicon, Nov 6, 2010.

1. Lexicon

Lexicon

Feb 24, 2009
    I'm a fairly newb bass player who currently plays an Ibanez SR500 which I actually really love. I like the feel of the neck and general overall feel of the bass. I have, however, been GASing for a P or J bass. I've found a 2008 or so MIM Fender P for $250 in mint condition. Seems like a really good deal and it's fairly local so I'd be able to check it out before buying.

Am I going to be happy with a P neck after playing the Ibanez toothpick sized neck? I have reasonably sized hands so I don't need a skinny neck per se but will the thicker P neck be a big transition? I've played some in local stores and it seemed like the overall setup was more of an issue that the neck size. The Js I've tried were pretty comfortable too but, once again, the setups weren't stellar.

I'm more inclined to a P mainly because I saw a Rock Steady band recently that blew my mind and the P the bass player was using sounded deeper and fuller than the J the following band's bass player was using. I liked the sounds a lot although he played a lot better than I can hope to play any time soon :)

What do you think?

2. Lexicon

Lexicon

Feb 24, 2009
    I've also found a Squire Vintage Modified P Bass for a paltry $155 used. Would I be better off going in that direction as a start?

3. Won't know for sure until you try it. I like the wider necks myself. I wouldn't give up my P bass if you offered me 10 Ibanez.

4. I have the same SR500 - added a Squier P, then a Fender Deluxe Jazz, then a Fender P - then an Ibanez AEB - then added my VM-Jazz and the last purchase was the VM-Jaguar.

That's three J-necks, two P-necks, the SR500 and then the oddball in-between 'em all AEB neck.