1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Few questions from a beginner

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Dr MacLean, Aug 10, 2012.

1. Dr MacLean

Dr MacLean

Aug 9, 2012
    Hi, I'm a drummer that's looking to get into playing bass. I've been looking at the Epiphone LP Special Bass on Muscians friend and I think it's the one I'll be buying.

I love the tone from Paul McCartney's Ric 4001 so what would be the most important things that would bring me close to that sound? (strings, amp etc.) And on the subject of amps what would be a good one for around 100$? It'll mainly be for practice with electric guitars and amplified acoustics so it won't need to be competing with drums (it'll take me a while to master drumming and playing bass at the same time ;))

Thanks in advance for any advice, hopefully this'll be my first post of many here.

2. willbassyeah

willbassyeah

Oct 9, 2011
    Singapore
    You won't get a ric tone from a lp bass. Amp below 100 is very hard to choose, I would go with hartke a series, warwick BC, or gk Mb line, see used classified for more choices. Btw the most important thing to get a ric sound is a ric itself, a ric is that unique of a sound that no bass can replicate it.

3. Dr MacLean

Dr MacLean

Aug 9, 2012
    I don't expect to get the exact sound of a Rickenbacker from a 300$ bass, I was more asking what strings etc. would bring me close to that sound. I think McCartney used flatwounds on his Ric? That might have only been the Hofner though.

4. Maybe you could find a good deal on a Peavey T-40. Those are known for giving a pretty good imitation of the Ric tone. If you're lucky you could probably find one for 350-450 dollars.

5. emblymouse

emblymouse Supporting Member

Jan 22, 2006
    W'Sconsin
    Lakland Artist Endorser