figuring out the walk

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Davygravy3, Nov 4, 2004.

1. Davygravy3

Sep 21, 2000
    Alright, I've been playing bass now for about 5 years, and have a decent grasp at theory. I have been playing mainly in school jazz bands and a couple rock bands. Thing is, the school music I get almost always has the line written out so I know how to read music. My problem comes in walking when just given the chords...I don't know what all the chords mean, etc. I know you generally start the measure off on the route, got two notes from that chord to play then come a half step up or down to the next chord. Thing is I'm not all that great at this, kinda crappy actually and next Thursday when I have to audition for the select jazz band (which I didnt have to do last year....but was in and did fine) I will have to walk on this song Birds of a Feather or something like that. Any tips on how to increase my walking skills asap? thanks
  2. Dynna

Oct 23, 2004
    The best thing I ever did for my jazz playing was to get Gary Willis' book "Fingerboard Harmony for Bass".

The gist of it goes as such(but get the book too, if you can)....

First, I'll assume you play a 4 string so the examples I give will be numbered/noted that way.

1. Starting on the low F note (1st fret low E), play a Dmin7 arpeggio(D-F-A-C) all the way across the neck using only fretted notes and no open strings, and then back down. STAY IN ONE POSITION(don't move up the neck). The highest note you will play is C (5th fret G string).
    2. MEMORIZE the SHAPE. Do this however you need to. Take it in sections, and memorize triangles or squares, whatever you need to REMEMBER the shape.
    3. Then play a G7(G-B-D-C) arpeggio starting on the same low F, across the neck(only fretted notes) and then back down. The highest note you will play here is the B(4th fret G string). MEMORIZE the SHAPE.
    Once you are comfortable with the shapes, and can play them at a good speed....