Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fingerboard glue...

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by RobZon5, Mar 5, 2004.

1. RobZon5

RobZon5

Feb 12, 2001
    Bartlett, TN
    Hi folks,
    I'm refinishing a Merchant Vertical bass, and have noticed the glue between the fingerboard and neck keeps seeping out, just enough to form a little ridge up both sides of the neck at the seam. I've sanded it off three times since late January. I did not replace the board, but It may have been removed to repair the neck crack. This can't be normal is it? I'm new to the "upright" world. Any ideas what is happening? Additionally, the bass lived in Colorado, prior to it's current home in southern Louisiana. Altitude and humidity? I'm thinking humidity is the cause. Question is: "What should I do?"
    Wait for all of the glue to ooze out and watch the fingerboard fall off? Remove the excess every mornin' and pretend nothing is wrong? Cover it with a thin layer of discarded lingere? Please advise :help:

Thanks for readin'

2. Damon Rondeau

Damon Rondeau Journeyman Clam Artist Supporting Member

Nov 19, 2002
    Winnipeg, baby
    I'm not a luthier, but I've spent a fair time hangin' and bangin' with wood and glues.

Your glue is oozing out the seam? On a continuous basis?

Any type of glue for wood -- once set -- will not ooze like that. That's why I think something has gone fairly drastically wrong with the fingerboard replacement on your bass. The wrong substance used as glue, wrongly applied, something like that.

Some adhesives will ooze and run when they're heated up, but by no stretch of the imagination is what you're looking at normal.

Take it to a luthier for a consultation on exactly what you're looking at there. Methinks the board should come off and be properly adhered to the neck.

3. nicklloyd

nicklloyd Supporting Member/Luthier

Jan 27, 2002