Fingers will not arch no matter what I do

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Surveyor87Fan, Jan 6, 2022.

1. Surveyor87Fan

Surveyor87Fan

Jan 6, 2022
    Hi, I'm a beginner bass player who has been playing for about 3 months now. I play bass at one of the clubs at my school and I really want to improve enough to start playing with my friends confidentially, but currently, I have been stuck with a problem that is super frustrating all the time that I play. When I'm fretting and positioning my left hand to play notes, my ring finger and my middle finger often straighten up and this is a no-go and when looking at everyone else play their fingers are arched and don't have this problem. I'm making a conscious effort to improve this but it's super frustrating when I correct myself and a few seconds later it happens. It's like I have no control over if it arches or not. I was wondering if anyone had any tips for me to fix this problem or should I just ignore it? I'm not sure. IMG_7728.jpg

2. A couple questions:

Can you share a photo or short video of your entire body when playing? It helps to see if you are sitting or standing and exactly what position you are in. Where the bass sits on your body, the angle of the neck, and your posture can all contribute.

How hard are you gripping the neck with your left hand? It's a common issue for new players to feel like they need to hold it tight like a baseball bat, or as if the bass will fall away if the hand isn't controlling it. Ideally your touch should be light, so you can move across the bass rather than dragging it around with you.