1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fingerstyle: alternating with mixed note lengths

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by phnx, Apr 27, 2015.

1. phnx

phnx

Apr 27, 2015
    Hello :)

I'm a guitarist transitioning to bass. When picking on the guitar, my right hand usually follows the rhythm when alternate picking, e.g. I will play

1/4 1/8 1/8
    as
    down (empty up) down up.

Does this apply to bass fingerstyle as well?
    I.e., would I play above rhythm as
    Index (empty middle) index middle?

Or is it more common to always alternate, regardless of timing?

2. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    Vestal, NY
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)
    I would say play it however you like, whatever feels good to you. I almost always alternate (no "empties") unless there's a long gap to "reset". I keep trying to get my right ring finger up to speed as well, not very successfully thus far (on bass, at least, all 5 work ok for guitar fingerpicking, but that's a rather different hing). With fingerstyle, there's normally not a whole lot of tonal difference between index and middle, unlike down/up pick strokes on guitar.

3. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    You could do it that way, though I find it pretty exhausting. I think it's best to keep the alternation strict.

4. Bass notes take longer to develop so keep in mind your tone. If you are wanting to play fast make sure you have the treble and mid highs dialed in so that your notes are articulate

5. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    They really don't take longer to develop.

cheapbasslovin likes this.
  6. Play much guitar?

7. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Not as much these days, but yes. Why?