1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fixing a Muff Clone

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by McHaven, Mar 21, 2009.

1. McHaven

McHaven

Mar 1, 2005
    So, I’ve got a modded/handmade muff clone that’s stopped working. I don’t have any idea what it is that’s wrong. It used to work, then I started to rehouse it in an EHX Nano casing (which it barely fits. Ugh) My pedal tech rewired the whole thing to cut down on the rat’s nest of wires it had. It still looks pretty ratty though. The pedal worked for awhile when he had it, then before I picked it up, it wasn’t working.
    s
    The true bypass still works. I can get sound to pass through when it isn’t engaged. The LED also still illuminates when the pedal is engaged. The connections to the pots and switch all look good, but I’m by no means an expert. I’m not well trained enough to spot any problems on the board itself. I sent an email to the builder about it, with some gutshots but he hasn’t gotten back to me, so I’m turning to you all for help.

If it comes down to it, I’d be willing to ship it to someone for repair. Here are a few gutshots. This is the best my camera can really do, so hopefully they’re good enough.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v23/nettor/ttrip/trip 2/S7300417.jpg
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v23/nettor/ttrip/trip 2/S7300434.jpg

I didn’t have nearly as many good shots as I thought I did. Let me know if anyone has any ideas, or needs any specific shots or details.

2. loose wire for sure or snapped cable.

3. rratajski

rratajski Commercial User

Jul 1, 2008
    Mount Laurel, NJ
    Builder for FUZZROCIOUS PEDALS
    Those wires were cleaned up?! That still looks messy.

I'd clean up the worms of wires, then trouble shoot from there. I agree w/ roflol, it sounds like a wire issue.

4. McHaven

McHaven

Mar 1, 2005