Free-Float vs Anchor Finger Technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by FeedBack, May 16, 2004.

1. FeedBack

May 12, 2004
    Just incase you guys dont know what these are, free floating is when your thumb moves around while you play and anchored is when you keep your thumb in one place (ex: Thumb on pickup or b/e string)

I was wondering, which do you use, and what do you think is the advantage?
  2. TheAmpNerd

Apr 25, 2004
    Dallas, Texas
    Actually I'm glad you brought that up, because I'm new to plalying bass. I was wondering the same things.

On people that I've seen/know they move the thumb one string lower (physically above) than the one played. I've got the
    Bass for Dummies book and I work through the Left Hand Permutations (p78). My question is when I do this, do I just
    slide my thumb down (physically) when I play on the next string?
  3. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    I use the floating thumb technique. By this i dont mean that i always keep my thumb suspended in air. What i mean is i move my thumb as i move which string i play on. Some people with thsi technique alway s have their thumb on the immediate next string to what they are playing. I like to leave a little more room than that. I have it 2 strings away. IE: if im playin on G, my thumb is on A. If im playing on D, my thumb is on E. If im playing on A, my thumb is on E unless its a riff that involves the E, in which case my thumb is on a pickup.
  4. DaemonBass

Mar 29, 2004
    Sacramento, CA