1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fretless as first bass.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Lobsterdeth, Mar 18, 2008.

1. Lobsterdeth

Lobsterdeth

Jan 6, 2008
    Tijuana
    I have been teaching my girl bass for a few months now, and she wanted to get her first bass because she had problems with me lending mine to her so she wants to go to GC.

She was a double bassist so she thought she wouldnt have much trouble with the VM Fretless Jazz, I am trying to keep her away from it by telling her why she shouldn't but she is insisting.

So talkbass, I need your help, is there anything I can tell her to keep her off it? She's been playing for like 3 months and she can't really nail the frets so good right now and stuff, but she just wont budge.

Any help? This is urgent.

2. Isn't this what practice is for? It sounds like she knows what she wants and even though it's not what you want, it is going to be her bass.

I think it's great to offer her advice and teach her some things, but at the end of the day it is going to be her bass, not yours.

My advice would be to let her pick her own bass. :meh:

That's my .02

3. I'm a Dad myself, and I play both fretted and fretless, so please excuse me being so forthright on the subject :)

It sounds like she has her heart set on a fretless. It also sounds like you want her to have a fretted so that she stays in tune when she mis-fingers a fret, which goes against what a fretless bass is about.

My feelings are if your daughter really wants to play a fretless bass and sees a fretless bass in her musical future...and she is willing to put the time in to learn the proper intonation, and maybe even get professional lessons if she is stuck...then maybe you should encourage her development in that regard, rather than find reasons to justify your need for her to play a fretted bass.

4. Lobsterdeth