1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Frustrated with my speed

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Jaredcouture, Mar 18, 2013.

1. Jaredcouture

Jaredcouture

Feb 16, 2013
    Hey guys. I started playing in December after not touching a bass in about 17 years. Long story but I got into it hard. Totally fell in love with playing again. It's not like being a beginner in allot of ways. I'm learning the music I used to play really fast but I've been having problems with speed. I'm 37 years old now and play at least an hour a day. Mostly stuff like Rage Against The Machine and 311. How can I fix my speed. Seems like no matter what I do my hands just can't move fast enough. Any suggestions on practice methods?

2. LowBSix

LowBSix Commercial User

Mar 25, 2008
    818 ~ 805 ~ L.A.
    Endorsing Artist: GHS Strings
    Develop a wide dynamic range. When you need speed let the volume do the work. A light touch lets the string sing. Work with a metronome and take it easy on yourself. Have fun.

3. Mushroo

Mushroo Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2007
    Massachusetts, USA
    Relax, play with good technique (ask your teacher for help with this!), lower the action on the bass, use low-tension strings, turn up the volume on your amp. All of these will help you gradually build up playing speed. In the interim, an exercise I find very helpful is to identify the "essential" or "key" notes of the bass line, that define the groove. So for example if you can't play constant 16th notes at a fast tempo, as a song was originally written, you can play 8th notes or even 4tr notes, so long as your simplified bass line is "hitting" on the important beats.