Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Future Bassist

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SWiTCH, Jul 20, 2004.

1. SWiTCH

SWiTCH

Jul 20, 2004
    Hi guys.
    Today, on a whim, I decided to take up bass guitar. I've been playing guitar for years now, and I'd like to expand my horizons. I record music onto my computer with guitars and drums, and a bass would complete my songs.

So anyway, I went on ebay looking to buy, but I realized I don't know anything about basses.
    I don't know the good brands and how many strings I want and what not.

I was hoping you guys could tell me what the good brands are. Maybe the Gibson equivalent in the bass world (think SG).
    I'm not looking for a beginners guitar because I have lots of experience with regular guitars, so that should give me a good head start. Something under 1000 bucks, so I can get get a used one on ebay in the 400-600 dollar range.

So if you guys could give me some brand names, or even specific guitars, it would help out a lot. And if you're feeling especially helpful, I could also use some info on bass amps and effects. Thanks a lot.

By the way, if your'e wondering what kind of music I'll be using this bass for, it's punk rock (NOFX anyone?).

So... Yeah, sorry for the ignorance.

2. Hmm, you have quite a few choices in this price range. American Fenders are one, P for a fat, mid-rangey tone and J for a brighter growl. G&L's are another good choice, with one or two humbuckers for punch (and tonal variety on the 2 pickup model). Lakland Skylines can be had for that price too, among others, and are highly regarded around here.