1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

G&L USA worth that much more than Tribute?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by baddarryl, May 8, 2010.

1. baddarryl

baddarryl Supporting Member

Oct 26, 2008
    Cape Fear!
    Hi all, maybe this has been hashed before, but I didn't see it. I have been gassing for a G&L L2000 or 2500 for some time after reading about them. We'll we finally got a G&L dealer where I live so I finally got to play one. I played a Tribute L2000 and was very impressed. Loved it actually. I just like USA made stuff so I will order a USA if I can justify it, but wasn't able to play one. Are they worth that much more? Resale is always a consideration too. Thanks.

2. Thunder Pulse

Thunder Pulse

May 12, 2007
    Any difference in sound is very subjective. Both models use the same pickups. If you buy a used Tribute resale isn't much of a concern.

3. I've owned a USA L2k and played a few Tributes. Tribbys are nice but if you can afford it go with the USA model.

4. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    Lots of minty used G&Ls out there, both US and Tribute. You missed the absolutely smoking deals by a couple years, as used G&Ls were dirt cheap. Still some good deals though, and much better than new.

5. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2002
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Re-sale of US G&L's has been marginal IME but that holds true of many brands / models. Why don't you make that work to your advantage and buy a used US or Tribute model? No sense taking the "drive it off the lot" financial hit when there are so many available on the second-hand market.

Riis

6. Thunder Pulse

Thunder Pulse

May 12, 2007
    It'd be helpful if you told him what differences you noticed between them.

7. baddarryl

baddarryl Supporting Member

Oct 26, 2008
    Cape Fear!