1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Genz Benz Shuttle 3.0 vs. Ampeg Micro-VR -- A Test

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by clark_cda, Sep 29, 2009.

1. clark_cda

clark_cda

Feb 22, 2008
    Coeur d'Alene
    Genz Benz Shuttle 3.0 vs. Ampeg Micro-VR

I got both of these—the Ampeg Micro-VR head and the matching Ampeg 2x10 cab as well as the Genz Benz Shuttle 3.0 head (not the cab). I took turns running both heads into the Ampeg cab.

Why? I’m a relatively new bassist. I’ve been a guitarist for, geez, about 25 years now and I've finally found the light and switched to bass. I can't believe it took me this long. I'm loving it. I’ve played in a bar band “back in the day.” I know what it takes to play live and I know that sound I want from a bass. So I have been doing my research on a small amp that could serve me well at low volumes practicing and, should the opportunity arise, get me through practices with a band and small gigs as a bassist. So the amp I got couldn’t just be a bedroom amp. It also has to be able to at least handle a small gig. But I didn’t want to break the bank.

So based on lots of reading here, it really came down to two rigs for me: the Ampeg Micro-VR and the Shuttle 3.0. I figured either way I would use the Ampeg 2x10 cab. In the end, I only was going to keep one of the two heads. I couldn’t really justify the extra head. But more about that in a minute. Here is the comparison: