1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Getting my first pedal...

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by SevenJacks, Jun 27, 2012.

1. Get the Zoom B3

68 vote(s)
    24.6%
  2. Anything but the Zoom B3

11 vote(s)
    4.0%
  3. Save your money, pedals are for noobs

35 vote(s)
    12.7%
  4. Get a higher quality single pedal (like a compressor etc.)

86 vote(s)
    31.2%
  5. Get a few, cheaper single pedals

28 vote(s)
    10.1%
  6. Use the 'search' function for gods' sake

48 vote(s)
    17.4%
  1. Gentlemen and ladies,
    I have been playing out for about 2 years now in a local cover band and I have never owned a pedal. I'm setting some money aside this week for my first pedal purchase. I will use about $200.

The Zoom B3 really intrigues me. Would this be a good 'all in one' to start with or would I get more out of some single pedals?

Thanks all :)

***UPDATE***
    So I pulled the trigger on the B3 and WOW this thing can do a lot. I'm also a novice pedal guy so I'm sure there are some holes that I don't see yet but WOW it's fun!

'Fun' being the operative word at the moment. I see a few sounds I could use but for the most part it will be a fun thing for home learning and experimenting.
    One thing I didn't expect was how the different effects make you play 'different' ways and makes you think differently. It's really great for 'mind expanding'.

Thanks all for the advice! I think I will post in a while about the Zoom in one of the respective threads when I get more comfortable with it. In the meantime, this thing will give me a ton to learn about. I can now see why people talk about high quality single pedals like Octavers and such because it seems like some of those effects can 'stutter' every once in a while, so that must be the tracking?
    Anyways, thanks everyone :)

2. Bassmike62

Bassmike62 Punch'n Ooomph !! Supporting Member