1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

GK MB150 vs Acoustic Image Coda

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Gregmak, Nov 6, 2013.

1. Gregmak

Gregmak

Oct 1, 2009
    Larnaca, Cyprus
    Hi guys,

I will be buying an amp for the first time for my double bass and I'm a little confused what to buy. Even worse I live in Cyprus so there is no way for me to try amps here with my bass as nothing is available.

So after a lot of searching I see a lot of people using these amps. The one benefit I see on paper about the Acoustic Image Coda is that it handles 2 inputs, and both have a mic xlr input with phantom power. I find that a huge plus!

I would like to use my mic (atm350) instead of a transducer, however I have no experience with mic's on an amp, so not sure how well it would work. I just want to have the best possible natural sound of my double bass.

The benefit of the GK MB150 is that it's half the price...700 euro vs 1500 euro. Also none of the other acoustic image amps are available at reasonable prices (Incl. shipping) at the online stores im looking at.

Any help greatly appreciated guys.

2. If I could choose between the GK MB-150 and the Genz Benz Shuttle 3.0-10T I would always choose the Genz Benz. There are a few last ones available at some dealers.
    Do a web search for "Genz Benz Shuttle 3.0-10T".

3. sevenyearsdown

sevenyearsdown Supporting Member

Jan 29, 2008
    Sanborn, NY
    I own both a GB Shuttle 3.0-10T combo, and a GK MB150. I used to run the ATM Pro-35 for my amplified setup. I also built a few condenser mics similar to the radio shack thing people post about here.